Underage Drinking/DUI

In the past, high school and college students who were stopped for underage drinking offenses typically received little more than a warning. Today, police and prosecutors treat drinking offenses far more seriously. Your child could face significant consequences both in the criminal justice system and at school.

We know that you want to send a message to your child about underage drinking. However, you do not want your child to end up with a damaging criminal record. Lutins & Pilgreen, PC, in Roanoke, Virginia, provides aggressive and intelligent defense for young adults who are charged with alcohol-related offenses. Call 540-627-5150 for a free initial consultation about your options.

Our lawyers handle all types of underage drinking offenses, including:

  • Underage DUI
  • Boating under the influence
  • Reckless driving (such as driving more than 80 mph or more than 20 miles over the speed limit)
  • Underage possession of alcohol
  • Public intoxication

Harsh Consequences For Underage DUI

Your child could face the same harsh penalties for actions that would not result in criminal charges for an adult. The legal limit for adults in Virginia is .08 percent. For a child, any admission that he or she drank alcohol could result in criminal charges. If your child is found to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .02 but less than .08, he or she faces the following consequences:

  • One-year driver's license suspension
  • Minimum fine of $500
  • 50 hours of community service
  • Higher auto insurance rates

The penalties increase for higher BAC levels and for multiple offenses. Your child may also face sanctions at school and the stigma of a criminal record.

Take Action To Protect Your Child

Virginia's zero tolerance underage drinking laws can affect your child's career, graduate school choices and participation in extracurricular activities. To protect your child's future, contact the lawyers at Lutins & Pilgreen, PC, in Roanoke, Virginia, at 540-627-5150.