When people have been accused of theft in Virginia, it is important that they understand the broad terms of this crime and the fact that it can potentially be very serious. The factor that makes theft a crime is the act of “unauthorized” taking. This basically means that you are engaging in theft from a legal standpoint if you take the property of another without his or her permission.
In order for a court to be able to successfully prove that a person is guilty of theft, they must also be able to show that the accused also intended to take the property, and wished to permanently take it from the possession of the rightful owner. If your accusation of theft was misguided or misinformed, it is important to know that you have many options in regard to forming your defense.
How is sentencing in Virginia established?
Many factors are taken into account when it comes to deciding the seriousness of a theft crime. They could be very minor or severe, depending on the exact circumstances of the case. The first factor that the Virginia courts will take into account is the value of the goods that were reported to have been stolen.
In Virginia, if the value amount of goods stolen was considered to be $200 or less, the charge will be a Class 1 misdemeanor. If the amount stolen is more than $200, then the accused person will be facing a grand larceny charge.
What is a grand larceny charge?
A grand larceny charge basically means that the offender engaged in a theft crime that was more serious in nature. This means that they stole goods that exceeded the value of $200, or they committed the theft of a firearm of any value. The consequences of such an offense could be imprisonment of up to 20 years, or could be jail time of 12 months or less, with a fine of up to $2,500.
If you have been accused of theft in the state of Virginia, it is important that you take action as soon as possible in order to form a compelling defense.